Book Cover: The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4

The final cover for this book hasn’t changed much from the previous design however I have changed the drawing of Adrian to give it more “action” and to tie into the plot a bit more; with him dealing with the notion of love.

I have changed the font to a more child-like handwriting as opposed to the sharper adult version from the draft.

I think the cream paper is more effective than the white from the draft as it is less contrasting to the dark background and more aesthetically pleasing.

I liked the idea of having Adrian with his diary from the draft version so I decided to include it as an illustration on the back. I think this works well as I had originally just had the blank page with the ink splotches.

Given more time, I may have redone the pages as some of the ink got smudged as I was blotting it and, particularly on the back, intrudes on some of the imagery.

One thought on “Book Cover: The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4

Leave a Reply

